• Thumbnail

Friday 15 February 2013 at 7.00pm

CBSO Centre, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0491

Ryan Wigglesworth#  conductor/piano
Nicolas Hodges*  piano
Nye Parry~  electronics

Stravinsky: Sonata for 2 pianos * #
Cage: Second Construction
Baker: The Tyranny of Fun ~ (BCMG Sound Investment commission / world premiere)
Causton: Chamber Symphony (BCMG Sound Investment commission 2009)
Messiaen: Oiseaux exotiques *

Richard Baker is one of the foremost composer-conductors of his generation. Commissioned through BCMG’s Sound Investment scheme, Baker’s new work for ensemble and electronics addresses the theme of ‘irrational exuberance’; taking in Ravel’s death-driven waltzes, and the sounds of 80s New York disco; with live electronics that Baker has developed together with his colleague, composer/sound artist Nye Parry.

BCMG premiered Causton’s Chamber Symphony in 2009 and this performance will be the Group’s first since Causton revised the piece following its premiere.

Giving context to these works are three pieces from the 1940s and 50s. Scored for unorthodox percussion instruments, John Cage’s Second Construction is one of a series of three works composed between 1939-42, while Cage was touring the west coast of America with a percussion ensemble.

Oiseaux exotiques (Exotic Birds), for piano and an orchestra of winds and percussion, is an enchanting sound fantasy containing imitations of no fewer than 40 different birdsongs or calls. Pianist Nicolas Hodges, the soloist for the Messiaen, is joined by Ryan Wigglesworth to open the concert with Igor Stravinsky’s Sonata for Two Pianos.

There will be a free pre-concert talk from 6-6.30pm with Richard Baker, open to all ticket holders.

In advance: 14 full price / 8 concession / 5 under 16s
On the door: 16 full price / 10 concession / 6 under 16s

On the door tickets may be purchased at CBSO Centre on concert nights subject
to availability. See the booking information page on BCMG's website for more information.