• Thumbnail

Thursday 27 October 2011 at 7.30pm

Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

Santtu-Matias Rouvali  conductor
Alisa Weilerstein  cello

Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé Suite 19'
Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor 40'
Mussorgsky (orch. Ravel): Pictures at an Exhibition 34'
Listen on Spotify

When Ravel arranged Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition for orchestra, he created one of the few adaptations that’s better than the original. From its opening Promenade to the majestic final Great Gate of Kiev, it’s one of the true orchestral showpieces, a glittering jewel-box crammed with unforgettable images. And Prokofiev’s cheeky Lieutenant Kijé suite is every bit as much fun! The young Finnish star Santtu-Matias Rouvali makes his Birmingham debut, and cellist Alisa Weilerstein celebrates her return to Birmingham with Dvorák’s impassioned Cello Concerto.

To listen to some of the music in this concert, and explore the rest of the season, using our Spotify playlists, click here.

£10, £14.50, £19, £22.50, £25, £30, £34.50, £37.50, £39.50

If you like this concert, you might also like:
Autumn Sunshine, Wednesday 2 & Thursday 3 November
Romantic Landscapes, Wednesday 18 & Thursday 19 January
Once Upon a Time..., Wednesday 9 & Thursday 10 May