Josefowicz plays Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

    Wednesday 17 May 2006 at 2.15pm

    Symphony Hall, Birmingham +44 (0)121 345 0600

    Sakari Oramo  conductor
    Leila Josefowicz  violin

    Brahms: Tragic Overture 13'
    Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor 27'
    Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 (Pathétique) 45'
    Listen on Spotify
    Watch on YouTube

    ‘Pathétique’ means ‘full of feeling’, and there’s no better description of Tchaikovsky’s final symphony, an unforgettable emotional drama played out in gloriously tuneful music. Powerfully defiant, Brahms’s Tragic Overture is a very different experience - but no less intense. Between these two epic dramas, Mendelssohn’s sweetly lyrical Violin Concerto should provide a moment of calm - though with the dazzling Leila Josefowicz as soloist, there should be no shortage of fireworks either!

    This concert is followed by a Members’ Afternoon Tea with guest speaker. For information on how to support the CBSO through one of its membership schemes, please contact Victoria Parsons on 0121 616 6514, or email

    Tickets £7.50-£26.50

    Pre-concert talk at 1.15pm
    The Players' Perspective -
    Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6
    CBSO violinist David Gregory offers a player's angle on Tchaikovsky's popular symphony.